The Lightbulb Day

So Monday was my final day of seeing movies for free and unfortunately the films that day were meh – The Other Guys (funny but overdone), The Kid (super emotional; I cried twice) and The Horde (predictable gorey fun). I was sad to say goodbye to other writers who I’d met along the way but it’s time for a change. I’ll miss being a film reviewer as it’s probably going to be the best job I’ll ever have but no money and no appreciation takes its toll on you after a while. I’ll be periodically moving my old articles onto this blog so watch this space for a sudden flood of back articles.

Anyway, not being employed and searching for a new position ultimately gave way to lots of games of Bejeweled, DVD watching and playing with my dogs. I’m also making my way through a bag of sugared almonds that I bought from a questionable pound shop.

Focusing on finding work hasn’t been as easy as I’d hoped, mostly because I’ve got the attention span of a five-year-old who’s dizzy on a glass of lemonade. Then I had a lightbulb moment.

At one of my screenings, a PR girl said she remembered me from university and though I couldn’t really remember her, it did give me the idea of working in PR. I think I could do that job and it’ll give me the chance to stay in touch with the film community.

I really wish I could remember her name but I’m terrible with knowing real life stuff – the guy who played the second cop in that episode of Cagney and Lacey, no problem but what I did yesterday – nothing.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Matthew Shaw
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 15:02:33

    Hey moulder5000,

    I avidly followed your reviews at onthebox, it’s a shame to see you go. From what I could see you rocked that joint! Hope you carry on the reviews, I’ll be reading!

    Matt

    p.s. good luck with the job hunt!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

