Roland Emmerich To Mo-Cap Asimov’s Foundation

If you’re a big sci-fi fan then grab a Kleenex because you could get a lil’ teary eyed at what I’m about to tell you.

Roland Emmerich, the director behind 2012, is helming an adaptation of Isaac Asimov’s Foundation series. See what I mean about the Kleenex.

It’s always hard for fans of books to see the movies being made and it’s even harder when you find out Mr. I Love Explosions is the one making it.

The Foundation series are prominent pieces of sci-fi literature and it’s got a lot going on, but knowing adaptations like I do, you’ll have to read the books to get the full picture because you’re never gonna get it in the films.

Wikipedia handily simplifies the story of the series as: Foundation tells the story of a group of scientists who seek to preserve knowledge as the civilizations around them begin to regress.

In an exclusive interview with MTV, Emmerich described his plans for the project; he’s basically going to steal from James Cameron.

“The Avatar technology applies to Foundation. It has to be done all CG because I would not know how to shoot this thing in real.”

Steal from Cameron all you want but if I see start seeing comparisons with anything (Pocahontas), I’m going to be sending you a little present, Roland. Put it this way, if you see a bag of poo on fire on your doorstep, it was me.

“Probably now all big movies have to be 3-D. It’s not only the effect of 3-D, [‘Avatar’ has] just shown that if you do a movie in 3-D, you can ask for more money and that’s the trick. I think now everybody who does bigger movies has to shoot them in 3-D. I think there’s no way around it. I was on the set of Avatar and I saw how it worked and I really thought, ‘That’s the ultimate way of making movies.’ “

Leave a Reply

